top of page

Suits You Sir

Okay, I have a big confession. A huge secret. I Samantha Louise Lomax a previous dress-a-holic have become addicted to suits.

Wow I never, ever, ever thought that I would be writing a piece declaring my love for suits but hey, Trumps president, we're battling through BREXIT and Channing Tatum and Jenna Dewan are officially seeing other people so you know stranger things have happened.

It's difficult to deny that suits are threatening the popularity of dresses from instagram to the red carpet to the big screen; you can't hide from it. With my ultimate style icon and fashion maven Blake Lively has been following in her characters footsteps and she has been donning a suit for the 'A Simple Favor' press tour (side note read the book don't watch the film), rap queen and all round girl boss Cardi B chose a Leopard Print suit for New York Fashion Week (now in my opinion a leopard print suit just screams money and luxury and it's something that is on my fashion bucket list) and über cool fashionista, model and it girl Gigi Hadid rocking a suit for casual wear.

 

 

I'm not being naïve I am well aware that suits have always been a favourite for the 9-5's and never have worked in an office setting and always feeling self conscious about my should've been rugby player thighs I failed to see how a chic tailored suit would need to make a home in my wardrobe. I would've never felt comfortable highlighting my saddle bags in a cigarette pants with matching blazer for a night out. But, with the fashion gods sending us the ever stylish, ever cool and ever comfortable Pyjama trend I knew it was my destiny to try it. So after scouring the Trafford Centre (and with that I mean Selfridges Topshop concession and Topshop) I found a green, silky wide legged dream and the approving nods from my parents made me realise I was officially a convert.

I mean how cool.

Sexy, sassy, empowered, elegant and lady like are all the words I feel when I don my favourite green suit. Whether it is chic and tailored or wide legged and cool suits are guaranteed to give you that effortless influencer feel.

Now, because I am on vacation (I know I've turned all American) I have spent the time trolling through the internet to find you three flawless suits regardless of your budget (or dream budget a girl has to have aspirations)

 

Total Cost of outfit £48.97

 

Total Cost of Outfit- £175

 

And just for fun- or if your budget makes Serena Van Der Woodsen look cheap

Total Cost of Outfit- £3195 (and nope I've not missed the decimal place out)

 

Best of the Rest

 

Have I tempted you yet?

Have you filled you online basket imagining different scenarios where you will where your two piece wonders? Well let me seal the deal...

You may be sat there thinking that your wardrobe is already filled with wondrous wonders and surely if you are going to buying a new outfit you're going to buy a dress because it's cheaper right? WRONG. The phenomenal thing is you can take your pants and blazer think outside of the box and recreate new outfits! Team your pants with a chunky knit sweater and pair your blazer with a black slip dress to give a new update on your favourite suit.

There you go my love letter to suits and whilst I will never throw away my LCD (little colourful dresses obviously! 😝) Im enjoying being able to sit down without worrying that I'm flashing next weeks washing 😉 and in the infamous words of Barney Stinson "Suit up"

 

xoxo

bottom of page